Blender 3D Program

If you’re like me you occasionally need to do something in a 3D program but you don’t want to shell out thousands of dollars.  I want a 3D program I just can’t justify that kinda money, I don’t need it that much.

In going through the tutorials on VideoCopilot.net I learned about Blender.  Blender is a free 3D program and a pretty sophisticated one at that.  Even thought it’s free you still get a complete 3D toolset with materials and physics, pretty impressive.

I may dive into it deeper but for now I’m just using it as a tool to help composite in After Effects.  Using blender I can create some true 3D title graphics or create and edit other 3D objects to export into AE.  If I get real courageous I may use it to create some better models for when I use Light Converse.  I need some better people models in there.

That’s it, I’m not familiar enough with it to show a tutorial or anything but there are already plenty of resources out there for that.  It’s available on Mac and PC, go ahead and download it here.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Resources, Video. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If you continue using Blender you will discover its true potential and by extremely impressed. I am at that level where my modeling has improved somewhat but still have a long way to go to take advantage of this great software.

    If you want to explore more then take in mind that Blender has a gaming engine (more making games), video sequencer (for creating videos), sculpture tool (to create models as though you were sculpting with clay – similar to Z-brush)

    And all this for free.

Leave a Reply

